Operating Committees

Project Finance Committee

The USD Discovery District Project Finance Committee was established in 2017 to review proposed financial terms in all land subleases and recommend action to be taken by the Board of Directors. In addition, the committee will assist in the development of financial tools and resources to facilitate the development of infrastructure and facilities within the Discovery District.

  • Russell Olson, Chairman
    CEO, Heartland Consumers Power District
  • Kevin Doyle
    Retired Partner In Charge, Eide Bailly, LLP
  • Jack Hopkins
    President, CorTrust Bank
  • Sheila Gestring
    Vice President of Finance, University of South Dakota
  • Christine Tjelmeland
    Chief Financial Officer, University of South Dakota Foundation

Design Review Committee

The USD Discovery District Design Review Committee was established per the requirement of Declaration of Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions (CC&R) which was approved by the Board of Regents in October and adopted by the Board of Directors in November of 2017. The committee will oversee the development and implementation of the design guidelines for the buildings and ultimately shape the overall aesthetic of the district.

  • James W. Abbott, Chairman
    President, University of South Dakota
  • Meredith Larson
    Retired architect, Henry Carlson
  • Paul Lewis
    President, PAL, Inc.